Year 11 student, Alexis Chau has been invited to attend the National Youth Science Forum in Canberra in January 2022.

After hearing about the forum at an earlier Assembly, Alexis applied for the opportunity to attend the event. Alexis has shown a keen interest in Science and STEM-related fields serving as Hillcrest’s STEM ambassador and pursuing subjects that will lead her into this future pathway.

The prestigious National Science Youth Forum (NYSF) is a not-for-profit organisation that runs a number of residential programs to encourage young people in their passion for science, technology, engineering, maths (STEM), and more. Their flagship program is a two-week mixed mode experience with online and in-person events.

The students attend a residential program hosted by Australian National University in Canberra during January where they connect, learn, develop, interact and collaborate with other student leaders and STEM industry professionals.

After completing the rigorous application forms and attending an interview on 5 September, Alexis Chau, has been selected and invited to attend the National Youth Science Forum from 10-25 January 2022, as part of the Year 12 program. Click here to learn more about the program.

The event will enable Alexis to rapidly learn more about STEM fields and be inspired by various academic and industry experts. In 2021 the opening panel consisted of some of Australia’s brightest minds discussing the role of future STEM professionals in helping build our national resilience. As last year demonstrated, the world faces significant challenges, with COVID-19, climate change, energy, food and water security and an ageing population posing some of the most urgent issues of our time. The discussion focussed on the tools students will need in the future to solve these problems and contribute to national resilience.

The panel was facilitated by NYSF CEO, Dr Melanie Bagg and featured Australia’s Chief Defence Scientist, NYSF 1990 Alumna and Science Patron, Prof Tanya Monro FAA FTSE FOSA FAIP GAICD, Australian National University Dean of Science, Prof Kiaran Kirk BSc(Hons) PhD DPhil FAHMS, Vice President International – Lockheed Martin Space, Rod Drury CSC, ARC Laureate and University of New South Wales Prof Veena Sahajwalla FAA FTSE HonFIEAust CPEng, and The University of Queensland Provost, Prof Aidan Byrne BSc MSc Auck. PhD ANU.

I’m sure the 2022 lineup will be just as inspiring along with the other events.

*Some images courtesy of the National Youth Science Forum website.

Chau, Alexis